Day 11: Los Arcos (22km)


Today was a great day on the camino. A guy named Pascal from France carried my pack for last 3km on the way to Los Arcos. Ericka from Germany working as a hospitalero ( volunteer who runs pilgrim alburgue) in casa Austria walked with me from Ayehi and taught me so much about taking of feet, identifying plants, medicinal properties of various plants. I started the day of tired, confused and without energy to walk. I followed an American couple which led me to a
Bus to Estella (9-10 km) from Lorca. Without any will power or energy I took the bus to estella. The couple were walking to villa Mayor and I decided to do the same. I had a coffee & chocolate croissant and walked around estella for 20mins. I called my grandmother and the call lifted my spirit and gave me the boost I needed to continue on the camino. Aren’t grandmother’s wonderful? Mine raised me as a child and knows me a little too well. She told me that she didn’t know that I would walk the way or live in a foreign country; she was happy and proud.
I slowly made it out of Estella and started the climb towards the villa mayor , I encountered the famous vine fountain where you can get free wine and water. I stopped in at the church and prayed to give me strength to make it to villa mayor. I visited the wine museum and started to walk again. I met Ericka at the sign for villa mayor where the road forked, she walked at my pace and I was happy to have a walking companion. She frequently paused to touch the plants, put stones on the markers, admire the sights and talk to meme about different plants and their properties. I enjoyed the slow pace of walk with her and made it to villa mayor by 1pm. It was hot (30 degrees C ), we picked up few fruit from the market and ate an avocado for lunch. We saw a beautiful house behind the church with varieties of fruit trees ( pear, guava, peach, apple, pomegranate, watermelon, asparagus, artichoke, tomato etc) it seemed like garden of Eden. We passed by grape farms, asparagus farms, hayed land , tilled land and some fig trees on the way. After few km from villa mayor there was no shade for 13 km and it had no villages on the way. The terrain was easy to walk but the sun was hot and our energy levels were dropping. We stopped after 6km dried out feet and shoes and massaged our feet. Pascal might have noticed us then, after one more break we were slowly making our way to Los arcos that pascal came walking opposite way asking if we were alright.
He said that we looked tired on the way and he came to help us. Ericka was skeptical and asked a lot of questions. Finally she let him carry my backpack, the walk after meeting pascal felt light and easy. I was touched by how this guy was thoughtful and so kind. I couldn’t get over the fact that he had already walked 34 km that day and came back 3km to help us and walked another 3km with us. He was a god sent !
I had two camino angels Ericka and Pascal help me make my way to Los arcos. I guess this is the magic and kindness that brings people to the camino over and over again.
Ericka walked from Germany to finisterra the year before and is spending this year volunteering and helping in the alburgues. Nacho from casa Austria made me a present of my name and a flower.

I have encountered so much kindness and In a way I hope it doesn’t run out. I made a mental note to go out of my way to help others more.IMG_8666.JPGIMG_8698-1.JPGIMG_8719-0.JPG

IMG_8673.JPG

IMG_8626.JPG

IMG_8696.JPG

IMG_8642.JPG

IMG_8677.JPG

Leave a comment